Still Working on the Giant Prickly Pear Painting. . .

5 May

It’s still unfinished–you may remember it from this post. Here’s what the painting looks like right now. The colors are a bit off in the photo–the background is a bit more purple-magenta-ier than it shows here. But you can get the basic idea:

Giant Prickly Pear (unfinished). Oil on Ampersand Clayboard panel. Copyright 2013 by S. K. Cole, all rights reserved.

Giant Prickly Pear (unfinished). Oil on Ampersand Clayboard panel. Copyright 2013 by S. K. Cole, all rights reserved.

As I wrote in my first post about this piece, it’s my first experience using a Clayboard Ampersand panel. I think I like it. For one thing, the panels don’t take up as much room as a stretched canvas–always an important consideration for me, in my small 1950s ranch house! These panels can be stored in a flat file, unlike stretched canvas. And they appear to be very durable. Hooray!

Leave a Reply

