Experimental Work

11 Apr

This is an experimental work employing a square of foamcore, a pencil and an X-acto knife. First I drew the jade plant silhouette lightly with pencil on the foamcore, then I scored it by pushing down harder on the pencil and also, in some places, using the X-acto knife to make deeper impressions. Then I wiped oil paint and oil medium over it in various thicknesses and shades, letting the paint settle into the scored areas to complete the design.

I will have to lacquer it well with acrylic medium to preserve it. This is a small piece (about 6″ x 8″), but I like how it came out very much, and am thinking of doing a larger,  more complex piece with the same technique.

For the past 15 years or so, I’ve been doing work that I thought was more commercial, with the hope of being able to sell it. I pushed my more experimental techniques into the background.

But no one’s buying the traditional stuff anyways, so I’m thinking, what the hay, I might as well go back to my experimental stuff.

Jade Plant. Oil paint and medium on foamcore. Copyright 2013, by S. K. Cole, all rights reserved.

Jade Plant. Oil paint and medium on foamcore. Copyright 2013, by S. K. Cole, all rights reserved.

2 Responses to “Experimental Work”

  1. redspaintings April 15, 2013 at 9:53 pm #

    This is really cool. Kudos for expanding your style and experimenting. So easy to want to stay in our comfort zones!

Leave a Reply

