Really Old School

7 Feb

This piece is really old school. It’s circa 1977, pre-art school, done when I was just 17 years old.It’s a copy in chalk pastel of a photograph from a vintage early ’70s edition of the National Geographic Magazine. I was living with my older sister, Sharon, at the time. One day, she brought home a book full of samples of various sizes and types of fancy paper from her office job.

The sample paper was excellent for use with chalk pastels. I think it was actually Nekoosa brand, but it was a lot like the more-familiar Canson paper so beloved of pastel artists, so I’ve described it that way. This piece is in tremendous shape for its age, too. I need to get my husband to frame it under glass as there’s no fixative on the pastel. Needless to say, it’s not for sale.

Blonde Ukrainian Girl. Soft chalk pastel on Canson-like paper. Copyright 2013 by S. K. Cole, all rights reserved.

Another chalk pastel piece, I did at the same time, using the same book of sample paper, is this still life of green beans in a rustic bowl. I like looking at  my old stuff and remembering how tough I was on myself, and how I thought that my work was never good enough. Now I realize that I was being way too harsh–that a lot of my early work was actually pretty darn good.

Leave a Reply

